Sunshine and lambs play

Another lovely sunny day today. I had a training course yesterday but am now, apart from a short meeting tomorrow, on a weeks holiday.  

This morning started with another lamb. This time a very big single ram lamb, who got stuck on the way out as he legs weren’t properly forward. It didn’t take long to sort out but mum is not bounding very well with him, he has obviously hurt her on the way out, and then I have made her more sore by putting my hands in and sorting out his legs. Touch-wood she is not seriously hurt but very sore and although she seems to like him she wouldn’t lick him when he was born but just stood looking at him and isn’t too keen on letting him feed either. She was very good when I milked her into a bottle and gave him his first feed that way though;  

  

 After sorting out the new lamb and his mum we sorted out the older ewes and lambs and turned them out to get some grass whilst the sun was out. This evening all but the newest born lambs have been shut in a field with hay and water for the night.  

   

The first two to go out, Maizy and her lamb  

Feeding time; the two ewe eating dinner whose lambs are still to young to go out with everyone else - 7th March 2010

 

Grazing out on the green in the mid-afternoon sun - 7th March 2010

 

Spring does feel like it has arrived this week, and everything is waking up. During the night I heard an owl out on the green and this morning I could hear a woodpecker and pheasants whilst I was sat quietly waiting for the ewe (Sophie) to make some effort to talk to her lamb. Yesterday we went to visit a friend and the whole of the green outside his house has been turned over by wild boar coming out of the woods in search of food.  

On Friday I started off the first of this years seeds. It was a ‘flower’ sowing day according to my moonplanting newsletter so I started off a mushroom kit and some Raab 60 Day, I also thought about sowing some cauliflower but didn’t in the end as I couldn’t make up my mind how many would be a good idea. I potted the everbearing strawberry plants that I got last autumn into a window box with lots of well rotten manure and moved it to a more sheltered spot in the garden.  

This afternoon we also took a trailer load of manure up to the allotment and some old fleece. The fleece has been put down as a mulch and then the manure (mostly not very well rotten straw from the babies houses). Some of the manure that is from a pile of manure that has been stood for a couple of years, and we grow courgettes there a few years ago.  

It is full of worms, and also little white ‘baby worms’ that I am not sure what they are. I have googled worm photos and not seen anything like them but I sort of remember hearing that they are not worms but something else that doesn’t do any harm, does anyone else know what they might be? 

Worms; the white ones I am talking about are the bits that look a little like sprouted bean shoots - 7th March 2010

Leave a Reply

