Into October

The arrival of John Harrison’s Allotment Growing newsletter in my inbox today has reminded me that it is already October and that I have plans for this month.

I’ve lost my camera so can’t share the photos of how far I have got with my new vegetable garden but in the last month or so I have changed it from an area of brambles, nettles, bindweed and willow-herb reaching over my head to a much calmer area which now even boasts its first bed made from the breeze blocks found hidden the undergrowth.

It very much feels like autumn now but that doesn’t matter; there is still plenty to do in readiness for next year’s main growing season and this month I would like to tick a few off:

  • Finish filling first vegetable bed
  • Plant onion sets and buy and plant garlic sets
  • Plant out the spring green plants which are waiting impatiently in their pots
  • Start leafmould
  • Buy and plant an amazing amount of crocus for some early bee feed in the New Year  

I’m sure I will do other things and possibly even get distracted along the way but a plan is a good start to the month

Leave a Reply

