A little change to tea time

Evening cup of tea - 15th AUgust 2010

We drink a lot of tea as a family. “Put the kettle on” is often the first thing shouted in the morning and a proportion of each day is a signed to our traditional banter over whose turn it is to make and pour the next pot.

In the past month or so we have made an important change to our tea drinking habits as we now drink tea mostly made with tea leaves instead of tea bags. We have always composted tea bags but recently mother found out that although most of a tea bag composts down very easily there is something in the glue that is used to seal the bag that can take up to a hundred years to break down completely.

Using loose leaf tea also means less ‘factory time’ is need and less resouces too.

We still do have a box of tea bags in the cupboard for use for that single cup of tea made in the cup first thing in the morning, or for grabbing a handful to take to work (making tea in the middle of a field with loose leaves is not so easy) but the majority of tea is now made in the loose leaf fashion.

6 responses to “A little change to tea time

  1. We don’t drink tea at all in our house, I don’t drink warm drinks and hubby only drinks coffee. I’ve just been catching up on your previous posts and was interested to learn about your inability to absorb vitamin b12. I was also found to be deficient in vitamin b12 last year. There is only one part of the bowel which can absorb vitamin b12 and this is the part which I had removed when I had bowel cancer. I had to have a course of six injections over a two week period and now have to have a vitamin b12 jab every three months. I can always tell when I’m getting towards the end of the three month period.

  2. I think the advent of teabags has ruined the simple pleasure of taking time over a cup of tea. Brew for 3 minutes – the average is 8 seconds apparently! The quality of tea leaves is higher when packed for lose leaf brewing so an all round great choice :o)

  3. I drink green tea and invariably it is loose leaf – I find the taste better (probably because the quality of the leaf is better) and it is cheaper; a pack of tea lasting nearly twice as long as a pack of tea bags for the same price. I didn’t know about the glue in the bags however.

  4. I drink lose tea, because I prefer the flavour – even though we only have co-ops own.

    as I am often the only one drinking tea, i use a metal tea bag thing, you spoon the tea in, then dunk it into the cup – as I drink tea weak and black, 8 seconds is plenty!

    as you say, it composts so much easier.

    • A life less simple

      The metal tea bag thing sounds interesting, any idea what they are called?

      As for Vit b12 I have been taking a suppliment that is 1/4 of the recommended daily allowance, which I up if I start feeling tired or run down

  5. Metal tea bag thing sounds like a tea diffuser to me. I’ve had a couple (often as part of a gift) – the trick is to get one larger than you think you’ll need. Otherwise you can find yourself putting a teaspoon of tea leaves into a teaspoon sized diffuser. The leaves expand and it all gets jammed up, so there’s no space for the water to pass through the leaves!

Leave a Reply

