My shiny new banner

My new banner, kindly made by Lou Tonkin

I have been writing this blog for over three years now, and the main reason I chose wordpress as my host was because I could make my own banner. Which I did over three years ago with my very dodgy photo editing skills and I loved it but just this past few months it has started to look for and more tired and out dated until I couldn’t take it anymore.   

My problem was I wasn’t sure how I wanted to change it, my photo editing skills have never gotten any better and I can’t draw  or paint to save my life, so I was over the moon when Lou Tonkin, a neighbour with a smallholding of her own, said she would put something together for me!  

Am I very proud to be unveiling it to you here.  

Lou is a very talented lady who seems to be able to turn her hand to anything she tries, she has just started her own blog to showcase her lovely work.  

*******************************************  

Life has been very busy here for a while, which has hardly left any time for blogging and even less time when I have had enough wits about me to sit down and write about what is going on. As well as the normal animal care and food growing (and watering!) I have ended up working five or six days a week compared to my normal three days.  

My contract ran out at the begging of April, I was covering for someone whilst they worked else where for a year with the possibility that their contract would be extended and I would be able to stay on in my current job. At the start of April I had my contract extended for a month but it looked very likely that I would be out of a job at the end of the month. The company that I work for was very supportive, I did want to go and they didn’t want to lose me so some funding was found for me to stay but with only half the hours that I had had with the hope that the rest of my hours could be made up by taking more delivery at events and covering for holidays, etc.  

So I started to take on extra hours, and as many as I could to try to make up the short fall that my new contract would have left. Then just as I was getting ready to hand back and start on my new work the person I was covering for got another job, meaning I could keep my job!  

Since then it has been a mad rush catching up with the work that I was handing back, that had all been put on hold whilst the details were being worked out, and delivering the extra work that I had said I would do already. By the middle of this month fingers crossed it will have settled down a bit but I will still have the extra work that I would have had so will be working more days a week until the end of the funding next year.  

2 responses to “My shiny new banner

  1. that’s great news on your job! what a relief and good fortune 🙂

    banner’s looking great and i know how important things like that can be. gives the blog a nice identity.

Leave a Reply

