Allotment 14/02/2010 – First work of the year

On Sunday me, mother and middle-younger-sister spent the afternoon at the allotment starting to get beds ready for the new growing season and generally tidying up the plots.

I’m aware that I have been posting a lot of boring looking posts without any writing, so I will post what we did in the photos that I took:

Allotment 14th February 2010 - The allotment when we arrived

Allotment 14th February 2010 - The remainder of the kale

Allotment 14th February 2010 - The remainder of the kale bed

Allotment 14th February 2010 - Moving the manure pile onto the beds

Allotment 14th February 2010 - Potato tyres filled with manure. Half a borrow load each

Allotment 14th February 2010 - Harvesting jerusalem artichokes

4 responses to “Allotment 14/02/2010 – First work of the year

  1. Great that you are making a start!
    I really must get to the allotment! I will take and post photos when I have!
    Can you spare a J. artichoke or two for planting?
    I had loads, every year I dug up all of them, but every year I had left some in the ground for the following season! Until last year, none grew! So I really must have dug them all up! Or something had happened to those that were left!

    • Oh course you can have some tubes, most of this lot have been eaten but will message you when we dig up some more.
      Where’s your allotment?

  2. Glad to see that you managed to get to the plot. I haven’t done anything on my allotment at all yet this year. I’ve never eaten Jerusalem artichokes, never mind tried growing them, but I fancy giving them a go. I don’t know if I’ll get round to it this year though.

  3. At least you are posting and that keeps us all interesting… every blog I look at it seems like people are always ahead of me. lol

Leave a Reply

