New Year Resolutions

I have already written a long and wafferly post about my aims for 2010 and when I read it back all of it was there, with explanations of why I wanted to do each thing but the part that was missing was how I was going to know that I had done these things; perhaps that is why so many people fail to keep New Years resolutions because they know what they want to achieve but they have no why have knowing when they have achieved it.

So I am starting again, this time with less going into what is it I want to do but more going into how I know if I have done it or not. 

Visit the Eden Project – Last year I finally visited the Centre for Alternative Technology, the Eden Project is also on my list of places to visit so this shall be the year.

Make my own cheese cake – Cheese cake is my favourite so it really is silly that I have never made my own.

Cut down the amount of needless “stuff” I own and accumulate – I will carry on with the declutter already started and get better at not buying things on a whim. I will set up a wish list for birthdays and Christmas. I will use the library instead of buying books. I will continue using the Mooncup I have and give homemade shampoo a try again.

Grow more of my own food – I need to eat more leafy greens and the fresher they are the better for me they will be so I will make sure I grow more kale and look for some more recipes to use it in. By mid-April I will like to have the allotments plots ready for full use, and fill the space up with crops.

Stay in contact with friends – I know this is something I am very bad at, when I have time off work I like being at home doing my own thing and it often seems like to much effort to go out and visit people but I have some very good friends, who luckily understand I am a little odd and more of a loner than most other people my age, and I will make more of an effort to see them.

Well, that is all I have that I can pin down but it is enough to work on for now. I am just waiting for the snow to leave the ground and I shall be away! Either that or very busy catching up on all the work I’ve missed because of it.

4 responses to “New Year Resolutions

  1. Some of your resolutions are similar to mine. I too need to ruthlessly declutter, get my garden organised to grow more food and I was talking to someone about the whole ‘friends’ thing last night – I’m really bad at making friends; I’m too aloof, but I do wish I could be better at it – so I’m going to try and stay in touch better this year with friends in the ‘real world’ rather than online.

    Have a great 2010 and enjoy the cheesecake!

  2. I want to have a think about things that I want to achieve this year, but want them to just be small changes that I can add to my routine that will make a difference.
    The Eden project is wonderful, I have lost count of the times I have been there, but at least 6! I hope you enjoy it.
    I made cheesecakes last year, really enjoyed them, I even made the biscuit base form homemade biscuits, and one time I made a giant biscuit for the base.
    I like my mooncup, but do find I cannot use it for maybe one day as I get cramps. So use the washables from Ellas House.
    I grow my own food, this will be my 4th year, every year I find that I need to change the amounts, but some years when I have reduced amounts they haven’t grown as well. A difficult one, but I will have to start planning soon. Esp. as the potato day at Dundry Nursery is in a couple of weeks time. Friends are important, I do tend to keep in contact with many on FB, but maybe I should make more effort to spend physical time with people.
    Thank you – off to write down my ideas in journal!

  3. I understand what you mean about keeping in touch with friends. I am a bit of a home bird and like my own company so it’s a bit of an effort to go out and meet up with people. I really should make more of an effort.

  4. Pingback: Chocolate and Orange Cheesecake | A Life Less Simple

Leave a Reply

