Pass the parcel

I have been having a big sort out of lots of things, books, videos, clothes and even a bookcase have been offered on freecycle and I am really looking forward to having more room and being better organised (yeah right!).

I have also been sorting out my seed boxes, yes I have more than one and there are odd packets dotted around my room, and have filled a chocolate box with packets that I either have more than a couple off or seeds that I have been given that I am not likely to grow, some are whole, unopened packets and some are half packets but most should grow and all are unneeded by me.

I could offer them on freecycle but what I would like to do is arrange a ‘seed swap parcel’, there have been some organised on forums I have belonged to but there has always been a massive list of people waiting for the parcel to be passed to them so I would like to arrange my own with the seeds that I have sorted to start it off.

So what I need now is people to pass the parcel to; and for them to pass the parcel to next.   

The rules of the swap are simple, when you receive the parcel take out what seeds you like the look of and think you will grow, add any seeds you have that you no longer need or want and pass the parcel on. If you would like to be involved then leave a comment saying so and leave an email address (but please do not leave postal addresses), when you receive the parcel contact the person who has commented after you and send that parcel on to them. At the end send it back to me!

I thought it might be nice to include a letter of what the weather is like or anything garden or nature related that you have spotted, and maybe what you have taken out of the parcel but it would all just be for something nice and interesting so I don’t mind if no-one else likes the idea of this.

16 responses to “Pass the parcel

  1. Count me in on the seed swop. My email address is sales@willoalpacas.com

    Denise Newey

  2. me too please! many thanks

  3. Hi there,
    I’ve just seen your post on GYU and would love to join the swap.
    Thanks

    (Am guessing that you get my addy without having to post it on internet. Let me know if I’m wrong. )

  4. alifelesssimple

    Thank you Jan and Laura for ‘signing-up’ to take part, it is great, please could you leave your email addresses so as the people who will pass the parcel on to you can contact you for your postal addresses? if you are worried about spammers than you can leave spaces inbetween it which I believe helps with the problem.

    Denise, I will post the parcel on Monday to you.

  5. Hiya

    It’s lacewing4 @ yahoo.co. uk Thanks

  6. email me and I’ll send you my address

  7. hello! I’m interested, got a few seeds that I’ve saved. katyny 88@hotmail.com

    =)

  8. Hi Poppy,

    Have you decided how this swap will be conducted yet?

    I noticed Denise is getting it sent today but do we just work down the list as above or are you going to post an order list so we know where we are?

    Love seed swaps and really looking forward to this one. :o)

    • alifelesssimple

      Hi Jan,

      Sorry for the delay in replying, I haven’t had any internet for a week or so.

      Yes, just work down the list of comments from people wanting to take part.

      • Glad you’re up and running again, Poppy. And you’re right in your other post about the internet gobbling up our time. Must work on cutting my time down and getting on with the knitting! 🙂

  9. Don’t include me in the swap (I’m in Australia), but I just wanted to let you know what a great idea this is! I’ll have to try and organise something similar here, perhaps over the next winter when everyone is in planning mode.

  10. Have just emailed veriwildcat for her email so the parcel will soon be on its way again!

    Some lovely things in there and have added some seeds I’m hoping you’ll all like.

    Once again thanks for organising this Poppy.

  11. Poppy, I’m trying to send on to the next address but the email for veriwildcat is just bouncing back as unsendable.

    Do you have any suggestions or should I send the parcel on to you as there are no other people added.?

    • Hi Jan,

      I only have the same email address that has been left on the comment, have you taken out the spaces?

      If that doesn’t work then send it on to me, as they haven’t left another comment I don’t know if they have been back here or not.

      Poppy

      • I will do Poppy. I don’t know where to send it to so could you email me your postal address so that I can get that sent back to you.

        Thanks

        Jan

  12. Pingback: A surprise on YouTube – the seed parcel returns « A Life Less Simple

Leave a Reply

