Counting eggs

Silver Dorking chickThe oldest of the Silver Dorking chicks is looking very cockerel like, but as they are sex-linked chicks I’m not really surprised. Still it would have been nice to be wrong, if that one is a cockerel then so is the other so no hen chick for the minute. There are a few more eggs in the incubator but I’m starting to get inpatient, I only have a breeding pair so that is only one egg at a time and I don’t want to set to many eggs and have a big gap of ages in the brooder so tonight I have been looking at buying some eggs for hatching.

There are some very good plus sides to buying in eggs, any chicks would be unrelated to my cockerel and hen, my hen must be getting older now so it would be nice to have some other hens ‘coming up through the ranks’ for when she retires from laying. There are a lot of breeders out there selling all kind of eggs and day olds, but not too many selling Silver Dorking eggs or chicks, I have emailed some breeders and a few breeders of other verities too…

One response to “Counting eggs

  1. I was confused, having hatched two Silver Dorkings under our momma hen – I could see by the broken eggs and numbers of chicks, obviously – because I expected silvery chicks but of course got chicks that are similar to yours in the photo! We do have what appears to be an albino Marans, supposed to be either copper blue or blue wheaten, which I suspect happens but is rare. Completely snow white!

    But how do you tell with the sex-linking on Dorkings?

Leave a Reply

