The Night of Four Eggs

I have two sets of quail who are old enough to be laying eggs, a older pair I brought at the end of last summer and a trio that I hatched just before Christmas.

All of the quail are indoors at the moment as the chicks were to young to go out and I ended up bring the older pair in when we had some snow. I was working today and I did my normal check of all the birds before changing to start outdoor chores,  I’ve been telling the birds that I hatched for a while now that they’re quite old enough to be laying me one egg each a day, so I told them this, changed and bought some water back to for the older pair who were almost out and she’d laid me an egg and so had one of the younger birds. After outdoor chores I came back in and started doing some cleaning, with some music on which I don’t do often, and my older hen laid me ANOTHER egg about two hours after the first one! And then, just not to be out done, the other younger hen laid an egg as well, very possible her first.

So maybe quail really like music, cows milk production is meant to go up if you play them classical music.

2 responses to “The Night of Four Eggs

  1. LittleFfarm Dairy

    Our goats certainly produce more milk if you play them music. But oddly enough, they have their preferences: for example they like Bryn Terfel rather than Katherine Jenkins….they broke into the milking parlour once & trashed much of my CD selection. I got the hint as to the ones they preferred from that as well as from the differing yields!

  2. alifelesssimple

    When we first started milking Primrose ( one of the cows) she seemed to like songs with Jesus in, she reacted very badly when Rhys started to sing one song, can’t remember what it was not but decided not to sing that one to her again.

    Years ago my mum was told to sing to animals (cows more than goats, they’re a little bigger and more painful when they kick you) when you first start milking them as you can’t be frightened or nervous if you’re singing and it does work.

Leave a Reply

