All hallows eve

Tonight is all hallows eve, or Samhain , but I much prefer the way all hallows eve sounds. To me this time of year has never been about spooks or trick-or-treat but has always stood for the Wiccan meaning of the day; a celebration of those lives who have passed. It is the start of the dark time of year, so always fits well with the clock change, but not dark in a sinister or foreboding meaning but in a soft and gentle way. The start of time to rest and regain strength for the next season.

I haven’t really marked the occasion for many years but have today by visiting my dads grave for the first time. I took some of the sweetpeas that are still going strong, spurred on my the warm spell a few weeks ago, in the front garden

One response to “All hallows eve

  1. Hi Poppy, I agree that this really is a very special time of the year, and I really like what you’ve written in your post. I think the dark time of the year can hold a kind of hidden treasure because it allows us to be more inward. I have been thinking of my dad too, he passed on about 4 years ago. xxx

Leave a Reply

